Skryne All-Ireland winners, John McDermott, Trevor Giles and Colm O'Rourke. Photo: Barry Cronin.

Evening of nostalgia with Skryne GFC

An evening of reminiscing and nostalgia for times past will take place in Royal Tara Golf Club this Friday night, 29th December, when ‘An Evening With Skryne Legends’ takes place. The evening will celebrate the significant milestones of Skryne’s long and proud GAA history, and mark 80 years of unbroken senior football, Keegan Cup wins, clubmen who have won All Irelands with Meath, and the club’s 1967 Junior B winning team. 
Former player turned pundit, Colm O’Rourke, will host a question and answer session with all of the Skryne Keegan Cup winning captains including Tom O’Brien (1954), Davy Carty (1965), Louis Pentony (1992), Declan Browne (1993), Mick O’Dowd (1999), Johnny Quinn (2004), and Aidan Tuite (2010).
A second question and answer session will be hosted by former Meath manager, Mick O’Dowd and will comprise of Skryne Club men who have won All Irelands including Davy Carty, Paddy Mulvaney, Colm O’Rourke, Liam Hayes, John McDermott and Trevor Giles.
Also in attendance will be the winning players who brought the Junior B Championship to the club 50 years ago. This is planned as a social night for people to come along and enjoy themselves, have a chat about old times and look forward to the new year.
Included in the admission of €10 is finger food and a ticket for the National GAA draw a car as first prize. Tickets will be available at the door from 8pm.