Joe Sheridan with the Delany Cup. Photo: John Quirke.

Joe Sheridan added to FF ticket in Ashbourne electoral area

Former Meath footballer Joe Sheridan has been selected to run in the Ashbourne electoral area for Fianna Fail, after being added to the party ticket there. He had been earmarked to run for the party in the Kells Electoral Area, but will now run in the Ashbourne area which includes his home area of Kentstown.
Already selected to run in that area is Dr Claire O’Driscoll, who is also based in Kentstown, and Ashbourne man Sean Smith. The area, which has six seats, will be broken up into three local electoral districts within the party, with each candidate responsible for an area.
The convention in Kells took place last night, with the electoral area also divided into three different districts for the purposes of selecting candidates. Nominated in the Nobber/Drumconrath area, where Joe Sheridan had been expected to run, is Ronan Murtagh, a postman in the area. There are two candidates in the central Kells area, Cllr Bryan Reilly of  Meath County Council, and Cllr Sean Drew of Kells Town Council.

The only contest at the convention was between the two candidates in the Oldcastle corner - Cllr Ollie Fox of Oldcastle, and up and coming young party member, Michael Bray of Fordstown, who is regarded as a bright hope for the future. Cllr Fox succeeded in being selected.

There are seven seats up for grabs in the Kells Electoral Area. Fine Gael holds its Kells area selection, with sitting councillors John V Farrelly and Eugene Cassidy of Meath County Council, and town councillors Sarah Reilly and Oliver Sweeney, vying for the three places on the ticket at the Headfort Arms tonight (Thursday).