COOKIES ON Meath Chronicle

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Meath Chronicle website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


VIDEO: Watch all the highlights from Meath Hill's epic JFC title triumph at Pairc Tailteann

Story by Conall Collier

Wednesday, 11th October, 2017 12:59pm

VIDEO: Watch all the highlights from Meath Hill's epic JFC title triumph at Pairc Tailteann


Meath Hill won the JFC title for the first time in 37 years when they proved too strong for Moylagh in a thrilling decider at Páirc Tailteann on Sunday.
The victory gave Meath Hill the Peter McDermott Cup for the first time and continued the north Meath dominance of the main football championships after Gaeil Colmcille took the Junior B last month.
The previous JFC trophy, the one Meath Hill won in 1980, was the Matthew Ginnity Cup, but that has since been downgraded substantially and is now presented for the B FL Div 6.

That will not be of any major concern to the current crop of Meath Hill players although the tradition of the old trophy is now gone.
This was a hugely entertaining game and although they were well beaten, Moylagh, who have never won the JFC, gave this final a real lash.
With more clinical finishing they would have been in a much stronger position at half-time, but they trailed at the interval by eight points and ultimately paid a hefty price for squandering early chances, especially a goal opportunity.
The omens weren't good for Moylagh from the outset and it was Niall McLarney who missed that sitter for Moylagh after only 59 seconds when he blazed a gilt-edged goal chance wide.
Moylagh managed two more wides before Tom O'Reilly converted a fifth minute free and then Joe Melia opened his side's account from play soon after.
Meath Hill settled and got back into contention with points from Jason Yorke and Pearse McGrath before they hit the front following a good move.
They played the ball out of defence with a patient build up that culminated with Tomás Smith providing the final pass for another Pearse McGrath point that edged the Hill in front.
The lead lasted all of 60 seconds and McLarney drew the sides level for the second and last time at the end of the first-quarter. 
Meath Hill upped the tempo sufficiently and dictated the remainder of a high-tempo half.
The Hill could have had at least three goals with sharper finishing. but Tommy Rooney's goal was enough to help them to a thoroughly deserved 1-8 to 0-3 interval advantage.

The extra points were added by Pearse McGrath, Thomas McGrath, Keith Ginnity, Chris Yorke and James Mooney.
Moylagh made a brave effort to get back into contention after the break with quick points from Melia and the impressive Sean Reilly who survived a blatant bodycheck.
Meath Hill's Jason Yorke was fortunate to escape with a yellow card for the offence as referee Hugo Whoriskey adopted a generous interpretation of the rules.
However, Moylagh's flourish was over as quickly as it had started and further points from Jason Yorke and Mooney restored Meath Hill's eight-point (1-10 to 0-5) advantage by the end of the third-quarter.
Moylagh rallied again and closed the gap with points from O'Reilly (free) and McLarney before they were denied a blatant penalty with 10 minutes remaining.
To their credit, Moylagh kept going, but were unable to make any major dent in the deficit despite late points from Eanna Brody (free) and Darren Gibney.
As the game ticked into five minutes of added time Meath Hill replied with a booming Jason Yorke point and another from susbtitute Mark Tully.

Meath Hill – Dominic Yorke; Barry Kieran, Ryan Owens, Conor Marry; Thomas McGrath (0-1), Kieran Slavin, Chris Yorke (0-1); Jason Yorke (0-3), Keith Ginnity; James Mooney (0-2), Pearse McGrath (0-3), Michael McCabe; Ian Malone, Tomas Smith, Thomas Rooney (1-0). Subs - Mark Tully (0-1) for McCabe 44 mins, Simon Martin for C Yorke 59m, Ryan Carry for Malone and Martin Tully for T McGrath both 60m.
Moylagh – Aengus Fanning; Kevin Foley, Darren Gibney (0-1), Padraig Traynor; Shane Gibney, Peter Fox, Jimmy Boyle; Joe Melia (0-2), Colm Fanning; Tommy Melia, Tom O'Reilly (0-2 frees), Niall McLarney (0-2); Brian Geraghty, Eanna Brody (0-1 free), Sean Reilly (0-1). Subs - Shane Brody for Geraghty half-time, Aaron Hand for T Melia 44 mins, Emmet Grall for Foley 59m.
Referee – Hugo Whoriskey (St Patrick's).

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus