Gaelscoil Éanna ‘s Hannah Ni Bhroin battles with Kildalkey NS’s Aoife Dunne during the Girls Div 3 final on Saturday. Photo: David Mullen/

Primary Schools Finals: No stopping Gaelscoil Eanna as title is secured

From start to finish Gaelscoil Eanna led this Girls Div 3 final using the strong breeze to build up a 1-4 to 0-0 interval lead before pushing on to secure the title in fine style with a 2-7 to 0-3 victory.

The main goal-getter was Ruby Nic Dhonaill who capped a powerhouse performance with 1-4, to show the way for her team. Holly Ui Neill also found the net for the winners in the second-half to help ensure the got across the line. Others to contribute scores to the winners' cause were the skilful, hard-grafting pair, Lucy Ui Fhaolain and Charley Ni Chuagain. This was very much a team effort and it showed in the way Gaelscoil Eanna defended in depth and attacked with great verve and imagination.

Nic Dhonaill's goal arrived on the 12th minute. The busy midfielder stepped up to take a free and lofted the ball goalwards. The ball sailed over heads and ended up nestling in the back of the net. Ni Chugain's strike was her reward for fierce determination and persistence.

Kildalkey found it difficult to find their range in the opening half but they stepped up a notch after the break putting together a series of quality moves that yielded points from captain Niamh Delaney, Aoife Dunne and Lucy Ryan but could have been so much more with a little luck.

Yet there was simply no denying the in-form Gaelscoil Eanna side who were on their game from the start of this entertaining encounter and reaped a rich reward with all involved playing their part.

Gaelscoil Eanna - Grace Ní Ógáin; Hannah Ní Bhroin, Sionainn Ní Laighin; Ellie Ní Chléirigh, Aoibhinn Ní Laighin, Lucy Ní Fhaoláin (0-2); Charley Ní Chuagáin (0-1), Ruby Nic Dhónaill (1-4 one free); Mollaí Ní Shuilleabháin Ní Bhaoill, Clíodhna Ní Mhealóid, Saoirse Ní Bhreartúin. Subs - Holly Ní Néill (1-0), Cáit Ní Chathail, Lily Nic an Choiligh, Millie Ní Chonghaile, Éabha Ní Bhroin, Emily Ní Chabhlacháin, Lily Ní Dhubháin, Brooke Nic Con Midhe, Niamh Ní Maoláin Nig Uidhir, Cáitín Nic an Fhailghigh. Mentors - Maire Ni Ghealbhain, Claire Ni Fhaircheallaigh.

Kildalkey NS - Laoise Hayes; Sarah Lyons, Megan Kerrigan; Chanel Corrigan, Grace Quinn, Niamh Delaney (0-1); Jennah Uyanik, Lucy Ryan (0-1); Aoife Dunne (0-1 free), Olivia Grant, Ruth Potterton. Subs - Caoimhe Collins, Sophie Way-Pike, Róisín Ward, Ruby Gethin, Orlaith Keogh, Jasmine Geoghegan, Isobel Canty, Daisey Birmingham. Mentors - Lisa Kennedy, Chloe McMahon, Nodlag O’Neill-Forde.

Referee - James Brennan (Bohermeen NS).