Meath to return to O'Byrne Cup and Kehoe Cup action in January

Meath will open their 2022 O'Byrne Cup campaign with an away trip to Wicklow to take on the hosts on Saturday 8th January at 2pm.

Plans to scrap the O'Byrne Cup and other pre-season competitions have been shelved by the GAA and Meath will feature in the four-team Group B along with Wicklow, Wexford and Laois.

Andy McEntee's side will also have an away game in round two when they travel to Laois for a 7.30pm throw-in on Wednesday 12th January and three days later they will complete their group stage with a home game against Wexford on Saturday 15th January.

The winner of Meath's group will face the winner of Group C which includes Kildare, Carlow and Westmeath in the semi-final on Wednesday 19th January (7.30pm) and if Meath were to top their group then that semi-final would possibly be in Ashbourne.

The winner of Group A, which involves Dublin, Louth, Offaly and Longford, will advance straight to the final which will be held on Saturday 22nd January, one week before the NFL gets underway when Meath will travel to face Galway in round one.

Nick Weir's Meath senior hurling side will contest the Kehoe Cup against Westmeath, Carlow and Kildare with the winner of the group crowned as champions.

In order to protect county grounds ahead of the start of the league campaigns Kehoe Cup games can be played at any grounds, including training centres.

21-04-20, Meath Senior Hurling squad return to training at DungannyMembers of the Meath Hurling panel pictured during the first Meath Training session after the easing of the COVID-19 restrictionsPhoto: David Mullen / ©John Quirke Photography, Proudstown Road Navan. Co. Meath. 046-9079044 / 087-2579454.ISO: 5000; Shutter: 1/400; Aperture: 4; Photo by David Mullen

Meath will open their Kehoe Cup campaign with a home game against Westmeath at 2pm on Sunday 16th January. A week later Weir's side will be at home again to face Carlow on Sunday 23rd January (2pm) and their final game will be away to Kildare on Sunday 30th January at 2pm.

All Kehoe Cup games will be allowed unlimited substitutions from a match day panel of 26 players. however, once a player has been substituted he cannot be brought back on.



Saturday 8th January (2pm) - Wicklow v Meath; Wexford v Laois; Longford v Louth; Offaly v Dublin; Kildare v Westmeath.

Wednesday 12th January (7.30pm) - Laois v Meath; Wicklow v Wexford; Dublin v Louth; Offaly v Longford; Carlow v Kildare.

Saturday 15th January (Time TBC) - Meath v Wexford; Laois v Wicklow; Longford v Dublin; Louth v Offaly; Westmeath v Carlow.

Wednesday 19th January - Group B winner v Group C winner, semi-final, 7.30pm.

Saturday 22nd January - O'Byrne Cup final.


Sunday 16th January - Meath v Westmeath; Carlow v Kildare.

Sunday 23rd January - Meath v Carlow; Westmeath v Kildare.

Sunday 30th January - Kildare v Meath; Carlow v Westmeath.