Easy for Ratoath after tough opening quarter

The scoreline tells the story of this SFC first round opener as Ratoath slammed Nobber by 5-21 to 2-6.

It wasn't really football behind closed doors, but it was a new environment for everyone with even the spectre of water-breaks, maybe that will develop into four quarters instead of two halves going forward, as they say?

However, Nobber made a positive start and had goal to their credit when third minute point-scorer Jordan Morris found the net 60 seconds later.

With Aidan Shields tagging on a pointf from a tight angle it was Ratoath playing catch up to claim parity at the end of the first-quarter, 1-2 to 0-5.

Two pointed Daithi McGowan frees and one apiece from play by Ben McGowan, Bryan McMahon and Cian Rogers ignited Ratoath and the Keegan Cup champions wrapped up victory before the interval as they took a 2-10 to 1-4 advantage to the sideline at half-time.

Jack Gillespie and Bryan McMahon scored the goals and they also had a Cian Rogers effort ruled out for a square ball infringement.

The second-half was all about Ratoath although Nobber were spirited with Morris claiming a spectacular consolation goal. Nobber also lost Brian Meade to a second yellow card near the end.

Ratoath's second-half goals arrived from McMahon, Connell Ahearne and Daithi McGowan.


Ratoath - Bryan McMahon 2-5 one free; Daithi McGowan 1-5 three frees; Connell Ahearne 1-1; Ben McGowan 0-4; Cian Rogers 0-4; Jack Gillespie 1-0; Conor Rooney 0-2 one free.

Nobber - Jordan MOrris 2-4 one free; Aidan Shields 0-1; Alan Farrell 0-1.


Ratoath - Shane Duffy; Ciaran O Fearraigh, Conor McGill, Ben Wyer; Jack Gillespie, Gavin McGowan, Andrew Gerrard; Ben McGowan, Darragh Kelly; Daithi McGowan, Cian Rogers, Conor Rooney; Connell Ahearne, Bryan McMahon, Jack Flynn. Subs - Cian O'Brien for Kelly 37 mins, Padraig BYrne for D McGowan 42m, Sean Brazil for Gillespie 50m.

Nobber - Dary Hutchinson; Cathal Cassidy, Eanna Fagan, Brian Meade; Paul Meade, Barry Cassidy, Niall Farrell; Thomas Murtagh, Alan Farrell; Ryan Hughes, Sean Meade,Carl Casserly; Aidan Shields, Jordan Morris, Brendan Heffernan.

Referee - Colm McManus (Gaeil Colmcille).



Bective 2-10 Drumbaragh 2-7

Walterstown 0-16, Moylagh 1-12


Kilbride 1-20, Drumconrath 1-5

Carnaross 2-18, Clonard 0-8

Ballivor 3-16, Boardsmill 2-14

More from this Topic