Donaghmore / Ashbourne win well

Producing plenty of power-packed football Donaghmore / Ashbourne chalked up a significant 1-12 to 0-12 SFC victory when they defeated Navan O'Mahonys at Skryne this evening.

Donaghamore/Ashbourne did the business with the help of a Jamie Browne second-half goal that proved the difference between the sides.

The winners, did however, finish the game without Shaun Byrne who was red-carded deep into injury-time although this was far from a bad-tempered affair. They also had James Redmond sinbinned in the closing seconds.

Indeed the opposite was the case with Donaghmore / Ashbourne building on a 0-8 to 0-4 interval lead to secure their valuable victory with Michael Deegan bagging seven points, six frees.

Sean Curran, Bryan Menton, Dylan Brady, Leo Reilly and Andy Tormey were others who registered scores for the slick winners.

Too often Navan O'Mahonys lacked the urgency and sharpness they needed to get through a well-organised, robust Donaghmore/Ashbourne defence.

The impressive Ruairi O Coileain top-scored for the Navan side with six points with Stephen Bray, Jake Regan and James O'Reilly others to fire over. They just couldn't work a late goal.


Donaghmore/Ashbourne - Michael Deegan 0-7 six frees; Jamie Browne 1-0; Andy Tormey 0-1; Dylan Brady 0-1; Bryan Menton 0-1; Sean Curran 0-1; Leo Reilly 0-1.

Navan O'Mahonys - Ruairi O Caolain 0-6 five frees; Jake Regan 0-3 two frees; Stephen Bray 0-2; James O'Reilly 0-1.


Donaghmore/Ashbourne - Andy Colgan; Conor Carton, Jason Boland, James Redmond; Sean Curran, Shane Melia, Thomas McGovern; Bryan Menton, Conor Carey; Darragh McGovern, Dylan Brady, Leo Reilly; Jamie Browne, Andrew Tormey, Michael Deegan. Subs - Shaun Byrne for Brady 49 mins, Jamie Crumlish for D McGovern 55m, Stephen Carton for Reilly 56m. Black card - James Redmond (not replaced).

Navan O'Mahonys - Marcus Brennan; Mike O'Reilly, Niall McKeigue, Brian Dillon; James O'Reilly, Cormac McGuinness, Gary O'Brien; Conor Finnegan, Evan Coffey; Duggie Dillon, Ruairi O Coileain, Alan Forde; Jake Regan, Stephen Bray, Darragh Maguire. Subs - Cathal Smyth for Finnegan half-time; Patrick Leahy for mcKeigue 37 mins, Dylan Regan for McGuinness 40m, Sean Smyth for Regan 47m, Rory Maguire for Forde 53m.

Referee - Patrick Coyle (Curraha).

More from this Topic