WATCH: Action from Fr Murphy road race

Thomas Moran from Dunshaughlin AC took the plaudits this evening in the Fr Murphy AC-promoted Streets of Athboy 5km road race in a fast time of 15 mins and 17 seconds which was more than a minute ahead of runner-up Rory Mooney.

Moran's time was 43 seconds faster than last year's winner David Heffernan and 12 months ago Mooney also finished second.

The best in the woman's race was Sonya McConnon who finished ahead of Dunshaughlin duo Shauna Moran and Linda Fahy and in another coincidence, last year's fourth-placed woman Olivia Martin, was fourth again.

The Fr Murphy AC club was established in 1960 and was well represented by club members in tonight's event that followed a fairly level circuit from the downhill start outside the town on the Kells/Navan road.

Some 250 runners made their way through the centre of the town taking a left turn out the kildalkey road and then following a loop back to the finish near the school on the Kildalkey road also.

Dunboyne AC official Tommy McDonnell provided a commentary at the finish and prizes were presented in St James' Hall.

See video of the finish - the reporter missed the winner who had finished the race before the reporter made it to the finish line - apparently it was a two-kilometre walk from the start line to the finish line and due to traffic congestion walking was the only option.

The reporter has pledged to start training tomorrow to avois this type of situation again.

See video and also note comments from Dorothy LeBlanc who was watching the live video link from Vermont in the USA.

TOP 10
1 Thomas Moran 15:17 Dunshaughlin AC
2 Rory Mooney 16:20 St Coca's
3 Malcom McDonnell 16:21 Mullingar Harriers
4 Richard Bell 16:43 Fr Murphy AC
5 Terry Brady 16:50 Dunshaughlin A.C
6 Peter Gaffney 17:13 unattached
7 Cormac Minnock 17:15 Na Fiann A.C.
8 Shane Boyle 17:25 Dunshaughlin
9 Ronan Carey 17:27 Na Fianna
10 Kieran Corcoran 17:30 Trim AC


1 Sonya McConnon 18:09 DSD
2 Shauna Moran 18:53 Dunshaughlin AC
3 Linda Fahy 19:06 Dunshaughlin
4 Olivia Martin 19:23 Bohermeen AC
5 Mary Hanley 19:52 Na Fianna
6 Bridgit Clarke 20:08 Na Fianna AC
7 Breda Harris 20:15 unattached
8 Rachel Peden 20:37 unattached
9 Mary Watters 20:44 Navan AC
10 Elaine Byrne 21:06 Balbriggan