Chairperson of Moynalty Tidy Towns, Peter Rogers.

Medals for Moynalty and Trim in national Tidy Towns competition

Moynalty has secured its tenth gold medal , while Trim is celebrating its first silver medal, in the annual Supervalu Tidy Towns competition. With 310 marks, Moynalty gained an extra four marks this year and finished just two marks behind the overall winner Abbeyshrule, Co Longford. The North Meath village was joint second overall in Category A for tidiest village. For the 18th year, Moynalty also claimed the top spot in the county. Meath's other medal winner was Trim, which gained its first silver medal in the competition. With 294 marks, Trim finished second in Category F behind Killarney. Trim was also highly commended in Meath and was named as one of the top ten tourist towns in the country by Failte Ireland. In other results, Castletown-Kilpatrick secured 285 marks, up six marks on last year, and was commended by judges. Enfield's score increased by four marks to 280, while Navan managed to secure an extra seven marks to bring its score to 270. The Endeavour Award in Meath went to Longwood with the village improving its score by 9.4 per cent to 197 this year. The Supervalu Tidy Towns Heroes 2012 Award for Meath was presented to Jackie O'Brien, Fairyhouse Lodge, of Ratoath TT committee. In a special category for sustainable development, Athboy Town Allotments received a highly commended award from the Department of the Environment. The 2012 Meath results are as follows: Category A: Moynalty 310; Batterstown 283; Dunsany 244; Killyon-Hill of Down 241; Dunderry 232; Rath Chairn 220; Drumconrath 205; Bellewstown 193. Category B: Castletown-Kilpatrick 285; Slane 279; Kilskyre 264; Julianstown 260; Crossakiel 258; Kilmessan 225; Carlanstown 220. Category C: Enfield 280; Athboy 278; Oldcastle 233; Laytown 218; Longwood 197. Category E: Navan 270; Dunshaughlin 257; Kells 244; Dunboyne 228; Ashbourne 226. Category F: Trim 294.