COOKIES ON Meath Chronicle

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Meath Chronicle website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Tormey takes the chair at convention

Story by Meath Chronicle Sports

Tuesday, 11th December, 2012 3:30pm

Tormey takes the chair at convention

Donaghmore/Ashbourne clubman Conor Tormey was elected chairman of Meath GAA Co Board at the annual convention on Monday night where the finances were the main topic of discussion.

Tormey polled 78 votes to 52 for Brendan Dempsey and 50 for Pat Clerkin in the first count. Tormey was a comfortable 100 to 78 winner of the second count.

Peter O'Halloran was elected vice-chairman in a contest where Barney Allen got 45 votes with O'Halloran of Drumconrath polling 68 to 65 for Boardsmill's J Reilly.

Francis Flynn was promoted from assistant-secretary to secretary unopposed.

Mairead Delaney (Dunshaughlin) is the new assistant secretary.

The position of treasurer was not filled with all nomineess opting out.

Outgoing assistant-treasurer Dessie Murtagh and Central Council representative Brendan Cummins were both returned unopposed.

Martin O'Halloran of Rathmolyon was elected PRO (85-84) against Anne McDonnell.

Jim Mullery (Slane) was elected development officer and Micheal O Gallachoir Irish officer.

The election of the two Leinster Council representatives was left over to the adjourned convention as also was coaching officer.

The adjourned convention will take place on Monday 14th January next.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus