Navan O'Mahonys' Jorja Keogh seeks to get away from a Duleek/Bellewstown opponent. Photo: Colin O'Brien.

Best display so far from O'Mahonys helps them defeat Duleek/Bellewstown

Colin O'Brien

Navan O’Mahonys put in their best performance of the Junior B FC campaign so far in Paddy O’Brien Park on Sunday evening when they defeated Duleek/Bellewstown, 2-13 to 1-8, in the final round.

The hosts got off to a good start with a point from play from Isabel Thorpe followed quickly by a point from a free from Muireann Nelson. Duleek/Bellewstown soon added two points and the sides were level after ten minutes.

A goal from Nelson was followed by a goal from Duleek Bellewstown and there was little between the sides throughout the first half. The sides exchanged points with neither managing to break away. Nelson added three points after her goal while the last Navan O’Mahonys score of the half came from Charlie Murray.

The visitors kept the scoreboard ticking over throughout the half and three points separated the sides at the interval.

Navan O’Mahonys 1-10 Duleek/Bellewstown 1-7

A quick start in the second half saw Milly Clarke Carolan rattle the net to extend Navan O’Mahonys lead shortly after the resumption. By this stage, the rain had gotten heavier making it difficult conditions for football.

This goal gave Navan O’Mahonys a cushion which they could push on from, although the visitors never let them get too comfortable. Impressive points from Nelson and Murray kept the scoreboard ticking over as well as one from Cara Ratty.

Both sides missed a number of opportunities, kicking some wides and also dropping balls short, perhaps to be expected in the weather conditions. Navan O’Mahonys backs did well to refute several attacks from the Duleek/Bellewstown forwards, which ultimately led to a convincing win.

It was important to keep the scoreboard ticking over while keeping the defence tight as score difference will be the deciding factor in table placings. In the end, Navan O’Mahonys ran out as eight point victors to claim their first win of the campaign.

Navan O’Mahonys - Caitlin Ball, Roisin Tobin, Aileen Falahee, Alannah Brady, Doireann Mellett, Deirdre Forde, Jorja Keogh, Charlie Murray (0-2), Caoimhe Cullen, Isabel Thorpe (0-2), Muireann Nelson (1-8), Tara Gleeson, Grace Cahill, Milly Clarke Carolan (1-0), Alison O’Toole. Subs - Cara Ratty (0-1) for Gleeson, Anna Murphy for Ball, Chloe Duffy for O’Toole