Justice brief for McEntee but disappointment for Fianna Fail's Thomas Byrne

Thomas Byrne will be among a number of senior Fianna Fail figures bitterly disappointed to have been left out of the new Cabinet this evening announced by the country's 15th taoiseach, Micheal Martin.

The Meath East deputy and vocal party spokesperson for Education was hotly tipped to take over at that Department but was instead overlooked for first-time TD from Kerry Norma Foley.

Another factor in the decision to keep Byrne out may have been down to the appointment of Helen McEntee to the Department of Justice and the optics of having two senior ministers from the same constituency. Father of three Byrne, may still land a junior minister role to be announced later.

Earlier, the first cabinet appointment revealed was that of Helen McEntee - an elevation to the Dept of Justice. The DCU Law and Journalism graduate has shone at the Dept of European Affairs and in deftly helping to steer Brexit negotiations.

Martin has now revealed his new-look Cabinet, making the announcement as the Dáil sat in the Convention Centre this evening.

The full cabinet line up is as follows:

Tánaiste and Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment: Leo Varadkar (FG)

Taoiseach Micheál Martin (FF)

Foreign Affairs and Defence: Simon Coveney (FG)

Higher Education, Innovation and Science: Simon Harris (FG)

Finance: Paschal Donohoe (FG)

Public Expenditure and Reform: Michael McGrath (FF)

Justice: Helen McEntee (FG)

Norma Foley: Education

Health: Stephen Donnelly (FF)

Children, Disabilities, Equality and Integration: Roderic O’Gorman (GP)

Social Protection, Community and Rural Development and the Islands: Heather Humphreys (FG)

Housing, Local Government and Heritage: Darragh O’Brien (FF)

Agriculture and the Marine: Barry Cowen (FF)

Media, Tourism, Arts, Culture, Sport and the Gaeltacht: Catherine Martin

Climate Action: Communication Networks and Transport: Eamon Ryan (GP)

Chief Whip: Dara Calleary

More from this Topic