Ashbourne player on Republic of Ireland panel

Story by Meath Chronicle Sports

Saturday, 25th January, 2014 6:38pm

Ashbourne player on Republic of Ireland panel

Ashbourne Utd player Lee Rock has been included on the Republic of Ireland u-15 panel that will play two friendly matches in Turkey on 6th and 8th February as part of their ongoing development.


The Irish boys, managed by Colin O'Brien, will meet hosts Turkey on Thursday 6th February and Holland on Saturday 8th February 8. Both games will kick-off at noon Irish time.


The fixtures take place at the Xanthe Resort in Antalya, Turkey.


Lee Rock is a son of Gerry and Deirdre Rock and is also scheduled to go for trials with Brighton soon. Lee's coach at Ashbourne Utd is John Broughan.


Also included in the Irish squad is Aaron O'Driscoll, son of former Bohemians and St Patrick's Athletic midfielder Maurice, and Anthony Scully, son of ex-Ireland U21 international Tony.


"We've had assessments over more players in December and also had a development game in Carlow IT last week. We've given a few new players a chance to show what they can do," stated the manager.


"Turkey came in with the invite to play so we've accepted that. We'll be playing two very strong opponents and these are great games for the players to play that level.


"It's a huge learning curve on and off the pitch and very important for the players to be exposed to opponents of that calibre. It's good to be invited to play that level of opponents rather than weaker opposition where you may not learn as much," he added.




Turkey v Republic of Ireland, Antalya, Turkey (12.00pm Irish).



Republic of Ireland v Netherlands, Antalya, Turkey (12.00pm Irish).



Lee Rock (Ashbourne United FC)

Colm O'Loghlen (Avenue United FC, Clare)

Ian Giltinan (Carrigaline United AFC, Cork)

Alec Byrne (Carrigaline United AFC, Cork)

Aaron O'Driscoll (Cherry Orchard FC)

Conor Fowler (Belvedere FC)

Daniel McKenna (Belvedere FC)

Jamie Hamilton (Belvedere FC)

Paul Martin (Belvedere FC)

Shane Stokes (St Kevin's Boys FC)

Lukas Browning (St Kevin's Boys FC)

Anthony Scully (West Ham Utd FC)

Evan Murphy (Salthill Devon FC)

Aidan Keena (Mullingar Athletic FC

Mikey Murphy (Raheny United FC)

Jayson Molumby (Villa FC, Waterford)

Thomas O'Connor (New Ross Celtic FC)

Eoin Porter (New Ross Celtic FC)


Conall Collier

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus