COOKIES ON Meath Chronicle

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Meath Chronicle website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


McHugh and Fitzsimons added to FF ticket

Wednesday, 15th January, 2014 5:23pm

McHugh and Fitzsimons added to FF ticket

Out of tune ... Eamon Gilmore and Jenny McHugh canvassing for Labour in a past election.

Jenny McHugh, the former Labour councillor who defected to Fianna Fail last year, has been added to the Fianna Fail election ticket in the Navan area for this year’s local elections, as well as sitting Fianna Fail town councillor, Padraig Fitzsimons.

They join councillors Shane Cassells and Tommy Reilly on the ticket in Navan. Cassells and Reilly were selected at a convention in Navan in December, where Fitzsimons was the runner-up. Up until the night before the convention, the delegates were under the impression they were selecting three candidates on the night, but a directive from headquarters instructed that two were to be selected.

This week sees a hotly contested Fianna Fail convention in the Ratoath electoral areas, on Thursday in Dunboyne Castle Hotel. There are six declared candidates - sitting councillors Nick Killian and Noel Leonard, as well as Dunboyne’s Damien Reilly and Fergus O’Riordan, Deirdre Smith of Ratoath, and in Dunshaughlin, PJ White.

Meanwhile, a date has yet to be set for another convention which will also see massive competition - the Kells Electoral area, where Seneschalstown and former Meath footballer Joe Sheridan is a candidate for selection, as well as town councillor Sean Drew and county councillor Bryan Reilly in Kells, Cllr Ollie Fox in Oldcastle and Michael Bray in Fordstown.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus