WATCH THE HIGHLIGHTS Parkvilla complete a double with Kilmessan Shield final victory

Story by Conall Collier

Thursday, 13th December, 2018 10:54pm

WATCH THE HIGHLIGHTS Parkvilla complete a double with Kilmessan Shield final victory

Gerry Gorman presented the Kilmessan Shield tonight

Parkvilla completed their first season in the North East Football League by completing a double at the MDL tonight with a 2-0 win in the Kilmessan Shield final.

Parkvilla had already won the NEFL Div 1 title and tonight's victory against a solid Enfield Celtic side rounded off a fine debut season in the NFFL for the former Leinster Senior League side.

The shorter season to facilitate a move to a calendar year season in 2019 worked out well for the Navan side and they can certainly look forward to the next campaigh with a renewed sesnse of confidence.

NEFL secretary Gerry Gorman mentioned in his speech ahead of the presentation of the trophy that the Parkvilla club was one of the flagbearers of the game locally even before the Meath League was formed in 1980.

It has been a long journey for both the Meath League (now the NEFL) and Parkvilla, but 38 years after the meath League kicked-off Parkvilla affiliated this season for the first time.

Tonight they managed goals ine ach half from Jack Murray and Jamie Blake and also missed a penalty close to the interval.

Manager Derek Coogan was delighted with the result and commented on the decision that the Parkvilla committee had made to step away from the Leinster Senior League this year.

"It was a difficult decision for the club, but I think it was the right one and now we can move forward next year and build on the success of this season," he commented.

Parkvilla - Gary O'Dowd; James Friery, Andy Williamson, Chris Kennedy, Jay Colton, Pierce Challenger, Joey Moran-Lynagh, Jack Murray, Jamie Blake, Ben Clarke, Ciaran Rogers. Subs - Gary GIbney for Rogers 73 mins, James Boland for Clarke 85m, Chris O'Neill for Williamson 88m.

Enfield Celtic - Ray Ryan; Conor Geraghty, Karl Corcoran, Dean Brennan, Sean Rafferty, Paul Burdette, Shane Harris, Sean Coloe, Nathan O'Neill, Cian O'Hare, Evan Coyle. Sub - Kristian Crawford for Coyle.

Referee - Thomas Little (Louth Branch ISRS).



Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus