Recognition for Mickey Burke

Tuesday, 4th December, 2018 4:09pm

Recognition for Mickey Burke

Mickey Burke

 Longwood's Michael Burke has been named as Meath GAA's 'Footballer of the Year.' 

Burke played a significant role in helping his club win IFC last September, their first triumph at that grade since 1942.  

The 'Hurler of the Year' went to Alan Douglas. The Trim player put in a series of powerful performances as Trim reached the SHC final where they were defeated by Kiltale. 

Rathkenny's James O'Hare has been named as the 'Young Footballer of the Year.' He was on the Meath team that powered their way to the Leinster MFC, clinching the title with a 1-15 to 1-7 win over Kildare. 

The 'Young Hurler of the Year' was claimed by Ronan Ryan who helped Kiltale secure five successive SHC titles. 

 Keegan Cup winners Dunboyne won the 'Club of the Year.' St Ultan's Sean Newman Park was named as the 'Ground of the Year' while the 'Public Relations Club Award' was claimed by Trim. 

Cormac Reilly was named as 'Referee of the Year' while the 'Most Improved Referee' was Martin Dawson (St Michael's). 

Special Merit Awards went to Paddy Kelly senior, Fer Foran, Frankie Byrne. 

The awards will be presented on Friday night.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus