Eamonn Barry targets chair at convention

Story by Conall Collier

Saturday, 1st December, 2018 8:11am

Eamonn Barry targets chair at convention

Nominated for the chair Eamonn Barry (back) and current Meath GAA Co Board chairman Peter O'Halloran (front).

Walterstown clubman Eamonn Barry has confirmed to the Meath Chronicle that he will only bid for the role of chairman at next week's Meath GAA convention.

The annual convention will take place at Navan O'Mahonys on Monday 10th December.

When the nominations were revealed last week Barry had been nominated for chairman, vice-chairman, secretary and treasurer as well as assistant-treasurer and Leinster Council.

However, Barry's sole interest is in the role of chairman and that will be the first item on the agenda when the election of officers begins.

That also means that John Kavanagh (vice-chairman), Jim Mullery (treasurer), Francis F;ynn (assistant-treasurer) will be returned unopposed.

At the moment it also means that PRO Ciaran Flynn is now the only other nominee for secretary against out-going secretary Mairead Delaney, but it is understood that he may not contest that role either. 

Also unopposed is Irish officer Denise Ní Muireagáin.

The nominations as they stand now

Chairman - Peter O'Halloran; Eamonn Barry.

Vice-chairman - John Kavanagh.

Secretary - Mairead Delaney; Ciaran Flynn.

Assistant-secretary - Anne McDonnell

Treasurer - Jim Mullery.

Assistant-treasurer - Francis Flynn.

Central Council delegate - Paddy Kelly; Conor Tormey.

Leinster Council delegates - Brendan Cummins, Jim Mullery, Brian Carberry, Cathal Joyce, 

PRO - Ciaran Flynn; Brendan Cummins.

Irish officer - Denise Ní Muireagáin.

Coaching officer - Greg Carry; Brian Carberry.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus