Seven post offices across Meath to close

Story by John Donohoe

Wednesday, 1st August, 2018 6:21pm

Seven post offices across Meath to close

Seven post offices across Meath are set to close, according to Meath East TD Thomas Byrne.

These are in Carnaross, Bellewstown, Tara, Dunsany, Rathmolyon, Drumree and Batterstown. 

"This is really sad news for these rural communities across Meath" commented Deputy Byrne. 

Some 112 post offices are earmarked for closrure across the country, according to figures being circulated this evening.

Deputy Byrne stated: "People who live in rural Ireland depend heavily on their local post offices. The Post Office is the lifeblood of any community. The Post Office network provide a wide range of essential services to the communities they serve.   This news is yet another blow for these areas in Meath, who have been systematically and repeatedly let down by this government whether it be the under resourcing of the Garda force or the total absence of rural broadband. 
"For many across rural Ireland the iconic harp over the door of their local post office represented the only visible indication of State services in their community. 


"I understand that these closures were made in consultation with the respective post masters and mistresses in Meath and that the dates of the closures are yet to worked out.  The Government have failed to provide any alternative to the these post offices when they close their doors. The Government failed these communities, not the dedicated and selfless staff who operated the post offices. 

"I want to pay special tribute to all the post masters and mistresses who will closing their doors in Meath. They served their communities with great dedication for many years and have done the State a great deal of service" concluded Deputy Byrne. 

The full list of post offices to close is below:

Social Democrats general election candidate for Meath West, Ronan Moore has described the recent announcement of the closure of 7 post offices across Meath as a major blow to local communities. 
It has been announced that 7 post offices in Dunsany, Drumree, Tara, Rathmoloyn, Carnaross, Bellewstown and Batterstown are to close after consultation with owners. A total of 112 post offices across the country are ear marked to close.  
Mr Moore says:
“I am saddened and disappointed by news of these closures and I think it’s a major blow to local communities. There is huge value in the physical presence of a post office in many parts of rural Ireland where the post office is often a vital community hub for sometimes isolated villages. These communities have been let down time and time again by the current Government which has stripped rural Ireland of its most basic services.”

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus