Ramor's Duffy declared Macra president

Story by John Donohoe

Wednesday, 10th April, 2019 8:05pm

Ramor's Duffy declared Macra president

Fergus O’Rourke (North West VP-elect), Gerard Mahon (Leinster VP-elect), Sean Wallace (Munster VP-elect) and front, Thomas Duffy (Macra na Feirme President-elect).

Thomas Duffy from Virginia has been declared the 37th Macra na Feirme national president.  The Ramor member is the current national chairperson of Macra na Feirme and has also served as Macra’s Agricultural Affairs vice chairperson and Cavan’s Young Farmer chair in the past.
A dairy farmer and part-time agricultural advisor, Thomas says he intends to bring ‘the drive, passion and ambition that is required to ensure that in its 75th year and beyond, Macra will be the voice of rural youth and agriculture.’
Results were also announced in the vice-presidential elections for Macra’s three regions, Munster, Leinster and the North West.
Fergus O’Rourke from Carrigallen, Leitrim, was declared the winner in the North West race, Gerard Mahon from Tullamore, Offaly, has been elected as Leinster vice president and Sean Wallace from Donoughmore, Cork is the new Munster vice president.
The three new vice-presidents will take up their positions alongside president-elect Duffy, at Macra's National AGM in Kildare on 11th May.
Current president, James Healy, said: “Congratulations to all candidates for the campaigns they ran. This was a great election, highlighting the best of Macra in terms of leadership, debate and public speaking. I look forward to the inauguration ceremony at the Macra na Feirme national AGM on 11th May in Athy."

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus