Dangan’s Andrew Kofi Van Roessel is tackled by Scoil Uí Gramhnaigh’s Cormac Winston during Sunday’s Boys Div 3 final at Pairc Tailteann. Photo: David Mullen/www.quirke.ie

Cumann na mBunscol Finals: Dominant Dangan sweep to victory over Rathcairn side

Boys Div 3

Dominant Dangan claimed the Boys Div 3 title in emphatic fashion with a convincing victory over Scoil Ui Ghramhnaigh Rathcairn in Pairc Tailteann on Sunday.

First-half goals against the wind from Kevin Rispin and Eanna Horgan proved to be the foundation stone for Dangan's victory, but they were also inspiured by great performances from Andrew Kofi Van Roessel, Conall O'Reilly, Michael Rispin, Tom McVann and Dylan Mooney.

Playing with the wind at their backs Dangan dominated possession in the opening half, but they kicked seven wides in that spell and also were denied on a couple of occasions by great saves by Larraí Óg Mac Muireartaigh.

Mac Muireartaigh made a great save to deny Conor Grey after three minutes before Kevin Rispin eventually made the net dance in the ninth minute.

Scoil Ui Ghramhnaigh responded with a pointed free from Liam O Bearain in the 14th minute, but a minute later Eanna Horgan had the ball in the net again for Dangan when his lobbed effort deceived everyone.

Again Scoil Ui Ghramhnaigh replied positively with a point from Conall MacDuarcáin, but it was all Dangan in the opening half as the excellent Andrew Kofi Van Roessel extended the Summerhill school's lead to 2-1 to 0-2 at the break with a superb score.

Scoil Ui Ghramhnaigh narrowed the deficit with a free from Briain Mac Donncha, but that was their last score for 14 minutes as Dangan played superb against the wind.

Kevin Rispin restored their five-point a minute later and the scores came at a steady pace as the first-half inaccuracy was replaced by clinical finishing.

Michael Rispin extended the lead with a fierce drive that clipped the crossbar on the way over and 90 seconds later Conall O'Reilly made it 2-4 to 0-3 with a brilliant point after great work by Eanna Horgan.

Mac Muireartaigh was at his brilliant best again to deny O'Reilly a certain goal, but two points in succession from Michael Rispin (one free) put the issue beyond dowubt, 2-6 to 0-3, with 10 minutes remaining.

Dangan failed to add to their tally for the remainder as coach, Meath hurling star James Kelly, emptied the bench to give all his players their day in the sun.

Scoil Ui Ghramhnaigh never gave up and with Finn Mac Cormaic exceptional throughout they showed outstanding spirit.

The Rathcairn school finished on the front foot with points from captain Ciarain Mac Donncha (free) and the lively Mac Duarcain, but it wasn't enough to stop determined Dangan claiming the honours.

Dangan NS - Bobby Benson; Camillus Byrne, Cóilí Considine; Cian Geraghty, Andrew Kofi Van Roessel (0-1), Conall O’Reilly (0-1); Max Gilroy, Éanna Horgan (1-0); Dylan Mooney, Michael Rispin (0-3 one free), Tom Bannon; Charlie Moffatt, Tom McVann. Lleyton McDonnell, Conor Gray, Ben Dixon, Flynn Larkin, Emerson Munday, Kevin Rispin (1-1), Tadhg Mahon, Tadhg Farrell, Timmy Considine, Josh Harte, Cormac Dunne, Tighe Winston, Dara Dixon, Daniel Crawley, Alex Molloy, Myles Gray. Mentors - James Kelly, Aoife Ryan, Vincent Brennan.

Scoil Ui Ghramhnaigh Rathcairn - Larraí Óg Mac Muireartaigh; Finn Mac Cormaic, Antaine de Búrca; Briain Mac Donncha (0-1 free), Cathal Ó Monacháin, Odhrán Ó Raghallaigh; Ciarán Mac Donncha (0-1 free), Sam Mac an tSagairt; Eoghan Ó Sirideáin, Liam Ó Bearáin (0-1 free), Cormac Winston; Peadar Ó Dubhda, Daithí Ó Gairnéir. Conall MacDuarcáin (0-1), Diarmaid Ó Tuama, Jeaic Ó Cearáin, Seán Mac Aoidh Ó Grianna, Isaac Ó Laigheanáin, Fraincí Ó Conalláin, James Ó Farannáin. Mentors - Cian Ó Faogháin, Brenda Ní Cheallacháin.

Referee - Tony Kearney.