Diarmuid Moriarty had a fruitful day against Dublin.

McCarthy's troops lose out to a more clinical Dublin

As is invariably the case when teams from the two counties met Dublin and Meath served up a fast-paced, entertaining u-20 Development Football League encounter at Dunganny today with the visitors wrapping up victory, 2-14 to 0-17.

The ability of Dublin to carve out and take goal chances proved a very significant factor in ensuring they secured the win - as the scoreline suggests.

They were helped along the way by a soft goal conceded by Meath in the opening half and at the break they led 2-6 to 0-7 with their second strike well taken.

Meath made a bright start and were 0-4 to 0-1 up after 14 minutes but they subsequently lost their way.

Diarmuid Moriarty had a very productive afternoon finishing with nine points, four frees while Conor Gray, Niall Finnerty and Eoghan Frayne fired over two points apiece with Jack Kinlough and Darragh O'Reilly were others to register scores.

Dublin's Luke Breathnach did serious damage as far as Meath were concerned scoring 1-2 with Jack Lundy also finding the net.

The closest Meath came to finding the net was when Moriarty forced an excellent save from the Dublin goalkeeper Max Fitzgerlad late on.


Dublin - Luke Breathnach 1-2; Conor Dolan 0-5 two frees; Jack Lundy 1-0; Dara Fagan 0-3; Darragh Dempsey 0-2; Conor Tyrell 0-1; Sean Kinsella 0-1.

Meath - Diarmuid Moriarty 0-9 four frees; Eoghan Frayne 0-2; Niall Finnerty 0-2 one mark; Conor Gray 0-2; Jack Kinlough 0-1; Daragh O'Reilly 0-1.

Meath - Billy Hogan (Longwood); Ben Donnelly (Kilbride), Liam Kelly (Ratoath), Ciaran McCarrick (Dunshaughlin); Mossie Corbett (Ratoath), Josh Carolan (Simonstown Gaels), Evan Quinn (Donaghmore/Ashbourne); Sean Emmanuel (St. Patrick's), Conor Gray ( Dunshaughlin); Adam McDonnell (Summerhill), Ruairí Kinsella (Dunshaughlin); Mark Coffey (Ballinabrackey); Barry Thompson (Ballinabrackey), Diarmuid Moriarty (Curraha); Niall Finnerty (Skryne). Subs - Jack Kinlough (Dunboyne) for Quinn half-time; Eoghan Frayne (Summerhill) for Thompson 36 mins, Sean O'Hare for Kelly 37m, Liam Stafford (St Colmcille's) for McDonnell 39m, Daragh O'Reilly (St Ultan's) for Kinsella 43m, Killian Smith (Castletown) for Carolan 51m, Fursey Blake (Dunshaughlin) for Corbett 56m.