Kilmessan's David Hackett closes down Ratoath's Will Lanigan during the Donal O Loingsigh Cup final.

Maguire's Men march to resounding final victory

In Arctic conditions Kilmessan led from start to finish to win the Donal O Loingsigh Cup at Ashbourne on a resounding 3-16 to 0-5 scoreline.

Jimmy Maguire's well-prepared, focused outfit - many of whom were involved in Kilmessan's JHC final triumph a few weeks ago including captain Mark Munnelly - were by far the better side.

They led 1-12 to 0-0 at the interval after playing with a very strong wind at their backs their goal scored by Peter Farrell. In the second-half Conor Gorman bagged two quick-fire goals to make sure of the win.

Paul Grimes hit five points while Aidan Mangan contributed three points to the victory. Sean Johnson hit four points of Ratoath's tally.


Kilmessan - Conor Gorman 2-0; Peter Farrell 1-1; Paul Grimes 0-5; Aidan Mangan 0-4; Jack Brady 0-1; Kris Gorman 0-1; Marty Mulhall 0-1; Paul O'Brien 0-1; Kevin O'Reilly 0-1; Kyle Smith 0-1.

Ratoath - Sean Johnson 0-4 two frees; Will Lanigan 0-1.


Kilmessan - Sean Power; Cian Maguire, Mark Munnelly, Padraig Maguire; Kris Gorman, Peter Farrell, Richard Judge; Paul Grimes, Marty Mulhall; Aidan Mangan, Ger O'Neill, Paul O'Brien; Danny Thynne, Jack Brady, David Hackett. Subs - Conor Gorman for Thynne 29 mins, Kyle Smith for Brady half-time, Donal Kelleher for Mangan 54m, Kevin Kevin O'Reilly for Mulhall, Jack Byrne for O'Neill both 40m.

Ratoath - Colm O'Riordan; James McCann, Cormac Butler, Eoin McNerney; Paddy Dowd, Niall McLarnon, Pierce Butler; Brian Kiernan, Cian Smith; Sam Coughlan, Brian Moore, Sean Keogh; Alex O'Kane, Sean Johnson, Will Lanigan. Subs - Tom Roddy for P Butler, Damien O'Meara for for O'Kane both half-time, Louis Nolan for McCann 44 mins, O'Kane for P Butler 52m.

Referee - Owen Ganly (Trim).