Drumconrath celebrate after their victory over Dunderry.

Drums beat Dunderry in thriller

They took the scenic route but in the end Drumconrath held their nerve to win the Premier FC Div 3 after a dramatic penalty shoot-out at Pairc Tailteann today.

This contest ebbed and flowed all afternoon with Dunderry and Drumconrath enjoying brief spells in the ascendancy.

The sides were level at the end of normal time, 1-8 to 0-11 - with Jamie Leavy getting the goal for Dunderry. They were still level after 20 minutes of extra-time, 1-9 to 0-12.

So it went to a penalty shoot-out. Both sides missed spot-kicks but Jamie Myles ended up scoring the crucial penalty that ensured his side ended up with the trophy. It was Myles's second successful penalty of the afternoon.

He stroked home his second penalty with great calmness to ensure his team won the shoot-out 6-5.

Steven Crosby capped a super display for Drumconrath with 11 points, nine frees and a barnstorming display.

Leavy hit 1-2 for Dunderry while Isaac McKeever and Alex Walsh fired over three points apiece but they were unable to finish off the Drums who claimed their first significant trophy in many years.


Drumconrath - Steven Crosby 0-11 nine frees, Matthew Durnin 0-1.

Dunderry - Jamie Leavey 0-1; Isaac McKeever 0-3; Alex Walsh 0-3 one free; Cormac Brady 0-1; Seamus Harte 0-1.


Drumconrath - Eoin Muldoon; Patrick Dunne, Declan Lafferty, Tom Callan; Robbie McEntegart, Cathal Dunne; Tomas Conlon, Jamie Myles; Oran Brady, Shaun Murray, Daniel Byrne; Matthew Durnin, Steven Crosby, Peter Tighe. Subs - Sean McMahon foer Murray half-time, Terry Skelly for P Dunne 36 mins, Josh Flanagan for D Dunne 46m, Patrick Farrelly for Tighe 50m, Jamie McMahon for Flanagan 57m, Patrick Halpin for Callan 63m, Thomas Duff for Byrne 68m.

Dunderry - Garreth Dooley; Aaron Feeney, Darren Callaghan, Eoghan Dempsey; Neil O'Leary, David McCormack, TJ Loughran; Chris Fitzgerald, Daniel Egenton; Ciaran Brady, Cormac Brady, Jamie Leavy; Isaac McKeever, Alex Walsh, Damien Clarke. Subs - Diarmuid Curran for Egenton, Kenny Fay for Clarke both half-time, Seamus Harte for Ciaran Brady 45 mins, Jack Darcy for Feeney 61m.

Referee - Liam Reddy (Duleek/Bellewstown).

Match report and photographs from game in next issue of the Meath Chronicle.