Wolfe Tones have had some great days at Pairc Tailteann in the past and they could do so again after their win today over Na Fianna.

McDermott's team show true grit to secure semi-final spot

Goals proved crucial for Wolfe Tones as they defeated Na Fianna 3-10 to 1-13 in the SFC quarter-final at Trim today.

Michael McDermott's men showed a sharper cutting edge in front of the goals and that propelled them to a cherished victory.

They winners put in a huge shift in this hard-hitting, high tempo encounter holding off a determined late surge from Na Fianna to win.

Cian O'Neill registered 2-1 for the winners the first goal a scrambled effort in the opening half, the second a well-directed shot to the net soon after the interval.

Cian Ward capped a busy display with a third goal from the penalty spot on 53 minutes after Niall O'Reilly was sent tumbling in the goalmouth.

At one stage in the second-half the Tones were down to 13 men as two of their players got black cards. In all four of the Wolfe Tones contingent were shown black cards in the second-half.

The excellent Oisin Martin scored two points while Ward hit 1-4 in all for his team.

Jack McNally topscored for Na Fianna with 1-3 while Daniel Queeney hit four points but the concession of the goals proved costly.

There was a brief, intense bust up just before the final whistle but no red cards were shown which was probably the fairest outcome as there appeared to be more pushing and shoving than any serious punches thrown.


Wolfe Tones - Cian O'Neill 2-1; Cian Ward 1-4 two frees; Oisin Martin 0-2; Saran O Fionnagain 0-1 free; Niall O'Reilly 0-1; Conor Sheppard 0-1.

Na Fianna - Jack McNally 1-3 one free; Daniel Queeney 0-4 one free; Shane Walsh 0-3 two frees; Ethan Devine 0-1; John Baldwin 0-1; Paul Kennedy 0-1.


Wolfe Tones - Cian Farnan; Brughach O Fionnagain; Adam O'Neill, Conor Sheppard; Niall O'Reilly, Shane Glynn, Daniel O'Neill; Padraic Diamond, Alan Callaghan; Stephen Sheppard, Cian Ward, Thomas O'Reilly; Oisin Martin, Cian O'Neill, Saran O Fionnagain. Subs - Caolan Ward for O Fionnagian, Tom Gavigan for Ward both 61 mins.

Na Fianna - Shane Geraghty; Sean Rafferty, Michael Farley, Daniel Devine; Luke Kelly, Oisin McCluskey, Oran Smullen; Ethan Devine, Jamie Queeney; Jake McCreddin, Daniel Queeney, Sean Martin; Jack McNally, Shane Walsh, Stephen Maher. Subs - Paul Kennedy for Maher, James Geagan for McCreddin both 46 mins, Johnny Baldwin for McCloskey 52m.

Referee - Andrew Smith (Dunshaughlin).