Monaghan in line for first Ireland start

Former Navan O'Mahonys and Meath Ladies footballer Samantha Monaghan is in line to make her debut for Ireland this evening in the Women's Rugby World Cup qualifier against Spain, 5pm (live on World Rugby YouTube/Facebook and

Monaghan, who won an All-Ireland u-16 FC title playing in goals with Meath alongside Maire O'Shaughnessy, Bridgetta Lynch and Kate Byrne under Eamonn Murray in 2009, has been named as a replacement for this evening's game.

Monaghan plays for Wasps in the Allianz Premier 15s in England and is a highly regarded second row forward for the London based club.

Head Coach Adam Griggs starting 15 includes Ireland sevens captain and Wicklow Ladies footballer Lucy Mulhall, who will make her debut at centre.

Monaghan, who came to recognition through the IRFU's IQ (Irish Qualified) system is also in contention to make for a first Ireland appearance at Parma’s Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi.

“We have been building towards this tournament for a number of months now, and the players have put in a huge volume of work to get to this point,” Griggs said ahead of a game that will be streamed live on World Rugby’s YouTube channel.

“The 23 selected have the honour of representing the wider group as we set out to achieve our goal of Rugby World Cup qualification. Spain first up will provide a stern test and the group are fully focused on starting our campaign on the front foot.

“We are confident the combinations and cohesion built up through the Women’s Six Nations will stand us in good stead for the challenges ahead, and we’re now excited to get up and running on Monday evening.”

Ireland (v Spain)

15. Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian/Munster)

14. Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe (Railway Union/Munster)

13. Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum/Leinster)

12. Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

11. Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Blackrock College/Connacht)

10. Stacey Flood (Railway Union/Leinster)

9. Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/Ulster)

1. Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/Leinster)

2. Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps/IQ Rugby)

3. Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

4. Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)

5. Nichola Fryday (Blackrock College/Connacht)

6. Dorothy Wall (Blackrock College/Munster)

7. Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian/Munster – captain)

8. Brittany Hogan (DCU/Old Belvedere/Ulster)


16. Neve Jones (Malone/Ulster)

17. Laura Feely (Blackrock College/Connacht)

18. Leah Lyons (Sale/IQ Rugby)

19. Sam Monaghan (Wasps/IQ Rugby)

20. Edel McMahon (Wasps/IQ Rugby)

21. Emily Lane (Blackrock College/Munster)

22. Enya Breen (UL Bohemian/Munster)

23. Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks/IQ Rugby)