Action from tonight's game between Navan O'Mahonys and Ratoath.

O'Mahonys lose to Ratoath

Tonight’s results proves the finicky nature of the condensed championships in these Covid times as Ratoath defeated Navan O'Mahonys by 1-15 to 0-10 at Donore writes Colin O'Brien.

At the conclusion of the group, Ratoath remain unbeaten on top. Donaghmore/Ashbourne, with the first championship win of the year advance to the quarter finals on score difference while Navan O’Mahony’s and Dunshaughlin, on the same points as Donaghmore / Ashbourne face the relegation quarter finals.

It was Stephen Bray who opened up the scoring after only two minutes in this final round encounter, but this good start for Navan O’Mahonys was not to last long.

Ratoath soon levelled things before finding the net after four minutes to push in front. A point from play from Brian O’Hanlon narrowed the gap but Ratoath kept their foot to the floor and after eight minutes led by five points.

Another excellent score from O’Hanlon spurred on Navan O’Mahonys and was followed by a point from play from Darragh Maguire. Two pointed frees from Jake Regan, one from 45 yards out on the hill sideline finished off the quarter with the deficit down to the narrowest.

It was the Brews Hill outfit who kicked things off in the second quarter with a score from Aodhán Mallon and O’Hanlon’s third point. Bray was forced to the line through injury and replaced by Shane Gillespie.

While Ratoath only scored once in this period, Regan made no mistake in the last kick of the half, converting a 45. This left Navan O’Mahony’s grabbing the lead at half time 0-9 to 1-5.

Perhaps the break did Ratoath good and they came out stronger in the second half, managing to take the lead four minutes into the second half. Regan again converted a free shortly before the water break to level things up, but this turned out the be the last time Navan O’Mahonys raised a flag in the game.

As they have done to so many teams in recent years, Ratoath managed to step up a gear in a blitz-like attack. The introduction of fresh legs with Niall McKeigue, Cormac McGuinness, Sean Walsh and Ronan Clarke joining the fray wasn’t enough to claw back the game and the defending champions claimed the points with some to spare.

Navan O’Mahonys - Marcas Brennan, Mike O’Reilly, Conor Brady, Paddy Dillon, James O’Reilly, Alan Forde, Aodhán Mallon (0-1), Ruairí Smyth, Duggie Dillon, Darragh Maguire (0-1), Stephen Bray (0-1), Brian Dillon, Jake Regan (0-04), Eoin Joyce, Brian O’Hanlon (0-3). Subs: Shane Gillespie for Bray, Ronan Clarke for Regan, Cormac McGuinness for Joyce, Niall McKeigue for Smyth and Sean Walsh for Gillespie