MFL title for Navan O'Mahonys

Navan O'Mahonys produced an outstanding final 10 minutes to get the better of Gaeil Colmcille by 2-12 to 1-9 in the MFL Div 2 final at Dunganny last night.

Navan O’Mahonys got off to a great start with excellent play by Jamie Lee McEreavey and Jack McConnell creating some well worked scores to settle the nerves.

Gaeil Colmcille replied with some scores from placed balls. Jack Coyle in the Navan goals then saved a penalty before the water break to lift the team.

Some excellent work from Jack Quinn, Evan Cully and Conor McEvoy kept O’Mahonys ticking over at the other end.

The second-half required grit and determination from the whole squad as Colm O’Toole was sin-binned.

Eoghan Nugent and Louis Collins were unbelievable leaders during this period winning vital possession at critical times for O’Mahonys.

Riordan Russell, Podge McEvoy and Sean Betso defended extremely well during this period when O’Mahonys backs were to the wall.

The introduction of players off the bench was ultimately the difference with Tiernan Black, Max Lafford, Finn Malone and Jamie Maguire closing out the game with fresh legs.

Sean Betson, Ivo Fitzherbert, Tiernan Black, Jack Lafford and Kieran Scott recently won the u-15 Feile and over the course of the league campaign have all played vital roles in this success.

Thomas Cully had an excellent game and lifted the cup on behalf of the squad

The panel of 25 players each played significant roles over the last six months.

Navan O'Mahonys panel - Jack Coyle, Riordan Russell, Colm O’Toole, Sean Betson, Thomas Cully, Eoghan Nugent, Ivo Fitzherbert, Louis Collins, Podge McEvoy, Sultan Karem, Conor McEvoy, Evan Cully, Jack Quinn, Jamie Lee McErevey , Jack McConnell, Kieran Scott, Tiernan Black, Evan Culligan, Max Lafford, Luke Victory, Nathan Carolan, Jack Lafford, Jamie Maguire, Peter McEntaggart, Finn Malone.