Meath contenders for Mullingar Scratch Cup

Evan Shipp from Headfort Golf Club will be bidding for success at the Mullingar Scratch Cup that tees-off on Sunday.

Ciaran Dunphy from Killeen Castle and the Laytown and Bettystown duo of Cian Geraghty and Alex Maguire will also be in action.

Recent North of Ireland champion Alex Maguire, South of Ireland champion TJ Ford (Co Sligo) and 2020 AIG Irish Close champion Hugh Foley (Royal Dublin) are among those players competing over the Bank Holiday weekend,

Now in its 59th year, no member of the host golf club has won the famous title.

One player looking to change that this weekend is Adam Smith who is a former Irish Under-16 Boys Champion.