At the 2010 Meath Sportsperson of the Year awards at Knightsbrook in January 2011 (from left) were: back - Celtic Media Group CEO Frank Mulrennan with monthly winners Christopher Blaney, Liam Harnan, Gerry McGrane (representing Damien McGrane), Graham Reilly, Mark Cassidy, John Floody, Colin Costello, Tadhg O’Connor (representing Cian O’Connor); front - Andrew Lynch, Johnny Murtagh, Alan McEntee (Cusack Hotel Group), MC Micheal O Muircheartaigh, Marie Cusack (Cusack Hotel Group), Meath Chronicle editor Ken Davis with Ann and Peter Toner (representing Devin Toner). Photo: John Quirke /

Countdown continues to the 2020 Meath Sports Awards

The 2020 Meath Sports Awards will be presented next month in a digital format due to the current Covid-19 restrictions.

This will be the 14th annual event, but due to the ongoing pandemic the 2020 awards will be confined to the main presentation, the 2020 Sportsperson of the Year, the team-of-the-year and outstanding achievement awards.

The current format of the Meath Sports Awards was introduced in 2007 with the first annual banquet at the Knightsbrook Hotel and Spa, Trim on Monday 4th February 2008.

The awards were not solely designed to honour those who have achieved sporting greatness and become household names, but also to recognise the achievements of the men and women who dedicate so much time to club and county in their chosen sports.

An Outstanding Achievement and a Hall of Fame category were added in 2008 and a young sportsperson of the year award was introduced in 2010.

The Cusack Hotel Group supported the awards annually with a broader range of sponsorship added from 2018.

Frank Mulrennan (Celtic Media Group) and MC Evanne Ni Chuilinn presented the 2011 Meath Sportsperson of the Year award to Nina Carberry. Photo: John Quirke / Photo by John Quirke

This year's awards are supported by Meath County Council, Devenish, Utmost, Knightsbrook and ECOMM Merchant Solutions.

The 2020 presentation will be the 14th annual awards and for the 13th time the main trophy will be designed by noted craftsman and woodturner Seamus Cassidy.

The format for the 2020 awards has had to be altered due to the Covid-19 restrictions and apart from the main award - the 2020 Meath Sportsperson of the Year - there will also be a team-of-the-year award and Outstanding Achievement awards.

It is anticipated that each of the 2020 recipients will be acknowledged at the 2021 Meath Sports Awards which are provisionally scheduled for January 2022.

The overall roll of honour is listed and this week the monthly winners for the years 2010 - 2013 are also listed.



January - Christopher Blaney (Boxing).

February - Colin Costello (Athletics).

March - Andrew Lynch (Horseracing).

April - John Floody (Equestrian).

May - Mark Cassidy (Cycling).

June - Johnny Murtagh (Horseracing)

July - Graham Reilly (GAA).

August - Edward Lynam (Horseracing).

September -Liam Harnan (GAA).

October - Damien McGrane (Golf).

November - Devin Toner (Rugby).

December - Cian O’Connor (Equestrian).

Gerry McGrane (representing his brother Damien McGrane) with the 2010 Sportsperson of the Year trophy. Photo by John Quirke


January - Cian O’Connor (Equestrian).

February - Tim McNulty (Motorsport).

March -  Andrew Lynch (Horseracing).

April - Nina Carberry, Jason Maguire (both Horseracing).

May - Shane Horgan (Rugby).

June - Cian Ward (GAA).

July - Gary Rogers (Soccer).

August - Koroush Foroughi (Athletics).

September - Ger Lyons (Horseracing).

October - Pat O’Halloran (GAA).

November - Sara Treacy (Athletics).

December - Christopher Blaney (Boxing).


January - Andrew Lynch (Horseracing)

February - Stephen Bray (GAA).

March - Barry Geraghty (Horseracing).

April - Thomas Gibney (Horseracing).)

May - Natalya Coyle (Modern Pentathlon).

June - Brian Farrell (GAA).

July - Rory McNamara (Golf).

August -Cian O’Connor (Equestrian).

September - John Davis (Camogie).

October - Gary Rogers (Soccer).

November - Martin Curran (GAA).

December - Sara Treacy (Athletics).


January - Ger Lyons (Horseracing)

February - Natalya Coyle (Modern Pentathlon).

March - Barry Geraghty (Horseracing).

April - Rory McNamara (Golf).

May - Peter Dempsey (Motorsport).

June -Joanna Morgan (Horseracing).

July - Michael Newman (GAA).

August - James Scully (Paralympics).

September - Shane Barrett (GAA).

October -Susan Oakes (Equestrian).

November - Gary Rogers (Soccer).

December - Tony Martin (Horseracing).



2007 - Gordon Elliott

2008 - Darren Sutherland

2009 - Johnny Murtagh

2010 - Damien McGrane

2011 - Nina Carberry

2012 - Cian O’Connor

Pippa O’Connor (representing her brother Cian O’Connor) with the 2012 Sportsperson of the Year award. Photo by John Quirke

2013 - Barry Geraghty

Meath Sportsperson of the Year for 2013 Barry Geraghty with his mother Bea, wife Paula, father Tucker and daughter Siofra. Photo: John Quirke / Photo by John Quirke

2014 - Devin Toner

2015 - Gary Rogers

2016 - Natalya Coyle

2017 - Robbie Power

2018 - Gordon Elliott

2019 - Gordon Elliott

2020 - to be selected

At the 2010 awards Meath Chronicle sports editor Conall Collier made a special presentation to MC Micheal O Muircheartaigh to acknowledge his contribution for the first four years of the awards. Photo by John Quirke