Cilles AC stalwart Graham Hyland honoured with award

Cilles Athletic Club stalwart Graham Hyland will receive nationwide recognition for his dedicated work with the Meath club when he receives an award tonight - see the event on the Federation of Irish Sport’s Facebook page from 7pm.

Hyland will be receive the Meath award at this week’s virtual Federation of Irish Sport Volunteers in Sport awards ceremony, the event is supported by EBS Mortgage Masters.

Hyland started up Cilles Athletic club in 2014 after he realised there was huge demand for the sport from children in the area.

He has driven the club forward over the last six years and has coached children of all ages.

He has inspired and surrounded himself with like-minded and dedicated volunteers who support his forward thinking, inclusive and hard-working approach.

Graham is dedicated to helping youths enjoy their running - whether they want to be competitive or not.

His love for athletics is unparalleled and he has travelled the length and breadth of the country to attend athletics events with the youths of the club and coached them to be the best they can.

Graham is constantly coming up with innovative ideas to improve the club and has represented Cilles AC at the Meath Athletics Co Board for many years

He is a role model for everyone in the club and through his dedication and hard work he has put Cilles AC on the map and has given so much to the community around east Meath


The Volunteers in Sport Awards were created to champion the contribution, commitment and dedication of the army of 450,000 volunteers across the country who go above and beyond by giving their time to Irish sport and physical activity each year.

These volunteers dedicate some 37.2 million hours of volunteering across the country’s 13,000+ sports clubs and associations every year.

Towards the end of 2020, members of the public, as well as sports clubs and governing bodies were invited to nominate an individual whose contributions to sport has made a real difference to their community, club or county.

The nominations and award recipients were selected by a judging panel consisting of 11 individuals drawn from sports administration, the volunteer community and media, including former Director General of the GAA, Paraic Duffy, RTÉ broadcaster, Marie Crowe and CEO of CARA, Niamh Daffy.


The awards will be streamed live each evening from 7pm on the Federation of Irish Sport’s Facebook page:


Tuesday 12th January - Leinster and Special Recognition Award

Wednesday 13th January - Munster, Connacht and Special Recognition Award

Thursday 14th January - Ulster and Outstanding Achievement Award

For more information on the awards, visit

More from this Topic