Trim's Antonia Daly wins The O’Brien Press Bookseller of the Year Award

Antonia Daly, of Antonia’s Bookstore, has been named this year’s winner of The O’Brien Bookseller of the Year Award.

Antonia is the 26th recipient of The O'Brien Press Bookseller of the Year Award which is presented annually in recognition of outstanding achievement or an invaluable contribution to the book trade by an individual bookseller. Winners are presented with ‘The Elements’ a bronze perpetual trophy sculpted by one of Ireland's leading sculptors, Rowan Gillespie, and a framed commemorative certificate.

In the last 15 years, Antonia’s Bookstore has grown from strength to strength led by Antonia’s passion and enthusiasm for the world of books. For the last seven years, Antonia’s Bookstore has been the official bookshop of the Hinterland Festival for which Antonia helps plan and organise events and signings. Antonia also runs a book club with young people and is a great supporter of authors, illustrators and publishers.

Ivan O’Brien, Managing Director of The O’Brien Press said: “The world of books has changed a lot since we first presented The O’Brien Press Bookseller of the Year Award for the very first time in 1995, but the core of what makes a great bookseller has remained unchanged: knowledge, passion, courage and an ability to find just the right book for their customer. Antonia personifies these qualities and is a worthy winner in these most challenging times.”

Antonia Daly said: “It was so confusing at first as I was expecting to have a Zoom call with coffee and chats about books and then Ivan was on my screen asking how things were going in the time of Covid bookselling. When Ivan started reading out what I thought was a letter about me I got really confused until he got to the end and said 'You're Bookseller of the Year!' and all the other faces popped up on the Zoom call.

"When I look back at all of the previous recipients of this award, I am absolutely honoured to be in such amazing company and to be awarded 'Bookseller of the Year 2020”

More from this Topic