The Dunboyne players plan how they will take down Dunshaughlin

Dunboyne blitz Dunshaughlin in powerhouse display

As statements of intent go Dunboyne's 4-12 to 0-9 victory over Dunshauglin at Ashbourne this evening was clear and emphatic - Conor O'Donoghue's side mean business.

They conjured up a powerful performance in this game and could have added a few mores goals to their in account they controlled more or less from start to finish.

They start at a breakneck speed and never relented building on a 2-3 to 0-5 advantage to secure the win and get their campaign off to the perfect start.

Donal Lenihan got the scoreboard ticking over for them with a well-struck penalty after seven minutes following a foul on Gavin McCoy and that was the spark that lit a fire.

Lenihan was to go on to add a second goal to his account and finish with an impressive tally of 2-4.

Jason Daly and Cathal Lacey were others to find the net for O'Donoghue's dominant side. David McEntee capped a fine performance with two points while Conor Doran, Ronan Jones, Lacey, Daly, Michael Murphy and Conor Bradley also fired over.

Dunshaughlin stayed manfully in the game but they were unable to make inroad through the strong, well-organised Dunboyne defence. Luke Mitchell topscored for Dunshaughlin with six points but they were all from frees with the impressive Cian Gallogly , David Fildes and Eric Casserly also contributing.

Dunboyne issued a warning with this win. Beware! They are on form.


Dunboyne - Donal Lenihan 2-4 one goal penalty, two frees; Cathal Lacey 1-1; Jason Daly 1-1; David McEntee 0-2; Michael Murphy 0-1; Ronan Jones 0-1; Conor Doran 0-1; Conor Bradley 0-1.

Dunshaughlin - Luke Mitchell 0-6 frees; David Fildes 0-1; Eric Casserly 0-1; Cian Gallogly 0-1.


Dunboyne - Cian Flynn; Jordan McLoughlin, Seamus Lavin, Cian O'Dwyer; Craig Lowndes, Conor Doran, Gavin McCoy; Shane McEntee, Ronan Jones; Cathal Lacey, Michael Murphy, David McEntee; Jason Daly, Donal Lenihan, Conor Bradley. Subs - Jack Scannell for McLoughlin, Liam Byrne for D McEntee both 45 mins; David Gallagher for Shane McEntee 51m.

Dunshaughlin - Adam McDonnell; Oisin Foley, Niall Murphy, Sean Gaughan; Ray Moloney, Shane Gallogly, David Fildes; John Crimmins, Matthew Costello; Tadhg O Dushlaine, Neil Byrne, Eric Casserly; Caoimhin King, Luke Mitchell, Cian Gallogly. Sub - Adam Kealy for John Crimmins 21mins.

Referee - David Coldrick (Blackhall Gaels)

More from this Topic