Gaeil Colmcille will have to emerge from a group including Seneschalstown, Simonstown and Moynalvey if they are to successfully defend the A FL Div 1 crown they won in July 2019.

Leagues to get season restarted



GAA actions looks all set to resume on the weekend of the 18th July with a revamped A FL set to play two rounds before the football championships get underway on the weekend 1st August.

In details released this afternoon the Meath Competitions Control Committee (CCC) propose that A FL Div 1 be run in a similar format to the senior football championship with the teams divided into four groups and the top team in each group will advance to a semi-final.

All other divisions will be divided into three groups of four with the winner of group A straight into a final and the other two groups winners will contest a semi-final.

There will be no promotion of relegation for the 2020 leagues and teams will be allowed to use unlimited substitutes. It is proposed to play two rounds of the leagues prior to the start of the championships with the leagues to conclude after the championships.

The plan is to finish off the A HLs which had started in February. There is no change to the format of the A HLs and there will be two rounds played before the championship and the remainder after it.

The top two teams in each division will contest the final with the winner promoted. The bottom team in each division, with the exception of Div 4B, will be relegated.



Group A - Oldcastle, Summerhill, Dunboyne, Na Fianna; Group B - Seneschalstown, Moynalvey, Simonstown, Gaeil Colmcille; Group C - Dunshaughlin, Navan O'Mahonys, Ratoath, Syddan; Group D - Wolfe Tones, Skryne, Ballinabrackey, Donaghmore/Ashbourne.


Group A - Curraha, Castletown, Nobber, St Colmcille's; Group B - Rathkenny, Duleek/Bellewstown, Carnaross, St Patrick's; Group C - Ballinlough, Trim, Walterstown, Dunderry.


Group A - Blackhall Gaels, Drumbaragh, St Michael's, Dunboyne B; Group B - Kilmainham, Bective, Moynalty, St Ultan's; Group C - St Vincent's, Meath Hill, Ballivor, Donaghmore/Ashbourne B.


Group A - Kilbride, Seneschalstown B, St Colmcille's B, Kilmainhamwood; Group B - Summerhill B, Dunsany, Ratoath B, Clann na nGael; Group C - Moylagh, Skryne B, Gaeil Colmcille B, Longwood.


Group A - St Brigid's, Simonstown B, Slane, Clonard; Group B - Navan O'Mahonys B, Drumconrath, Wolfe Tones B, Boardsmill; Group C - Na Fianna B, Dunshaughlin B, Cortown, St Mary's.

More from this Topic