Nelson's juniors seek to lift gloom

Nelson's juniors seek to lift gloom

This evening Davy Nelson sends his Meath team out to take on Longford in the Leinster JFC semi-final at Pairc Tailteann, 7pm hoping to lift the gloom that hangs over football in the Royal County. 

After the Meath seniors were sent tumbling out of the championship on Saturday the junior grade offers a chance to win some silverware.   

Neither teams involved in tonight's contest have played a competitive game yet as Longford's fixture with Cavan was called off. The winners of that game were due to take on Meath however Cavan withdrew from from the championship. 

Nelson has an outstanding record in terms of winning championships with his club Navan O'Mahonys. He claimed six as a player and four as a manager with the Brews Hill outfit. He also had success with Latton O'Rahillys in Monaghan. 

Over the past few weeks Nelson has been busy putting a panel together for the Longford game and he feels the JFC is very important "as a stepping stone" to help players from u-20 level especially to make the step up to senior inter-county level.

It's also a great chance, he adds, for players from lower-ranking clubs to represent their county at inter-county level. He has also been encouraged by the positive response he has received from players. 

"I'm very heartened by the response from those we've called in. Hardly anyone has refused the call," he said. 

The Meath JFC team and substitutes for tonight's game is: Conor McHugh (Oldcastle, captain); Ciaran O'Rourke (Trim), Cian McPartland (Oldcastle), Michael Woods (St Brigid's); Nicky Judge (Ballinabrackey), Conor Dempsey (Dunderry), Thomas O'Reilly (Moylagh); Sean Claire (Syddan), Kevin Traynor (Syddan);  Danny Quinn (Ballinabrackey), Peter O'Connell (St Michael's), Cathal McConnell (Bective); Kevin Ross (Castletown), Luke Martyn (Dunderry), Daire Rowe (Syddan). Subs - Johnny Lynch (Moynalty), Paul Lynch (Moynalty), Darren Finney (Castletown), Ger Reidy (Oldcastle), Conor Farrell (Dunderry),  John Keane (Summerhill), Eamon O Donnchadha (Clann na nGael), Kevin McKeown (Ballivor), Andy Tormey (Donaghmore/Ashbourne). 

Manager - Davy Nelson; selectors - Timmy O'Regan, Vinny Ryan; backroom - Paddy Doyle, Alan Forde; physio - Liam Tuire. 



More from this Topic