Ballymacad Hunting Extravaganza

The sun shone on the Ballymacads last Sunday at Sallymount House where over a thousand people gathered to watch their first staging of The Hunting Horse competition. The lightweight was won in spectacular style by Susan Oakes who rode side saddle and she later went on to take the Supreme Champion. Frances Molloy from the Kilmogannys took the heavyweight section. The women kept the upperhand on the day when Vicky Sherwood won the gate jumping competition clearing 1m48 in fine style, thrilling the spectators. The Inter-Hunt Chase didn't disappoint and provided all the usual thrills and spills and gasps as the Killinicks beat the Ward Union in the final. History was made as neighbouring packs the Meaths, Louths, Westmeaths and hosts, the Ballymacad Foxhounds, all paraded their through the picturesque grounds of Sallymount House. The Westmeath Beagles (a footpack) were also paraded. Spectators also had TugO'War, Vintage Machinery, Dog Shows, Pet Farms, Pony Rides, Bouncy Castles and lots more to keep them amused for a sunny afternoon celebrating a great day out in the countryside. JUMP CROSS RESULTS NOVICE 1st Abigail Boylan, Jimzee, Louth 2nd Rebecca Flynn, Sargent, Westmeath Pony Club 3rd Kate Finnegan, Mayo, Meath Riding Club 4th Eileen Doran, Audacious, Kilrainy Riding Club 5th Rachel Wollett, Gloria, East Galway 6th Louise Boylan, Rocky, Louth/ John McManus, Orlando, Ballymacad OPEN 1st Lisa Daly,Tommy, Fingal 2nd Gearoid Mulligan, Fred, Longford Harriers 3rd Liz Bloomer, Braveheart, Meath Riding Club 4th Kevin McDonnagh, Junket John, South County Dublin 5th Sinead Boyd, Joe, Killultagh 6th Conor Berry, Noleen, Longford HUNT HORSE COMPETITIONS Lightweight Section. 1st Croboy Rambo, Susan Oakes, Meath Foxhounds. 2nd Ardagh Highlight, Tom Whyte, Longford Harriers. 3rd Tom, Damien McDermott, Meath Foxhounds. 4th Big Business, Vincent Flood, Tara Harriers. 5th Multy, Larry Maxwell, Ballymacad Foxhounds. 6th Rocky, Louise Boylan, Louth Foxhounds. Best Turned Out - Croboy Rambo, Susan Oakes, Meath Foxhounds. HEAVYWEIGHT SECTION 1st Casper, Patricia Molloy, Kilmoganny Foxhounds. 2nd Jack, Gary Fitzsimons, Ballymacad Foxhounds. 3rd Mouse, Cossie McGivern, Meath Foxhounds. 4th Hugho, David McCarthy, Galway Blazers. 5th Fernando, Sarah Jane Walsh, Meath Foxhounds. 6th Maisie, Mark McElroy, Newry Harriers. Best Turned Out - Fernando, Sarah Jane Walsh, Meath Foxhounds. CHAMPION Croboy Rambo, Susan Oakes, Meath Foxhounds. RESERVE CHAMPION Casper, Patricia Molloy, Kilmoganny Foxhounds.