COOKIES ON Meath Chronicle

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Meath Chronicle website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Leinster Trophy win for Cian Carey

Story by Conall Collier

Sunday, 17th September, 2017 7:48pm

Leinster Trophy win for Cian Carey

Cian Carey won the Leinster Trophy at Mondello Park today.

Meath driver Cian Carey, the Motorsport Ireland Young Racing Driver of the Year, returned to Mondello Park for the first time this year and added his name to the illustrious list of winners of the historic Leinster Trophy.

Mondello Park has hosted the famous race since they opened the gates back in 1968 and previous winners of the Leinster Trophy include Ayrton Senna, Mika Hakkinen and John Watson.

Carey featured at this meeting in Mondello in 2016 when he charged up to third in atrocious conditions, matching the times of the two F3 cars in his Formula Renault car.  

This time, at the wheel of his Chris Dittmann Racing Dallara-VW, Carey dominated the feature race of the meeting, leading from pole position at the start and pulling away from Paul Dagg.

A safety car period shortly after half distance bunched the field up, but Dagg spun off soon after the restart and retired.

Stephen Daly, who lost a lot of time at the start when his car stalled at the green light, blasted his way through the field to finish second, ahead of Amsterdam visitor Gino Ussi.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus