Two changes for Donegal, Meath team to be named tomorrow

Thursday, 6th March, 2014 3:44pm

Story by Fergal Lynch
Jump to comments
Two changes for Donegal, Meath team to be named tomorrow

The Meath team for Sunday's NFL Div 2 trip to Ballybofey to take on Donegal is expected to be named tomorrow morning (Friday) after manager Mick O'Dowd assesses the well being of his u-21 contingent.


The Meath u-21s were involved in a thrilling Leinster u-21 FC quarter-final against Louth on Wednesday night that went to extra-0time and still finished level, 2-14 to 3-11 and featured Eamon Wallace, Padraic Harnan and Bryan McMahon, all of whom are expected to feature against Donegal.

Harnan went off late in the game against Louth, but is expected to be fit. However O'Dowd may have to weight up his options with his u-21 stars enduring a heavy schedule of five games in 16 days.

Definitely out of contention for a start are Andy Tormey, Conor Gillespie, Davy Dalton, Caolan Young, Sean Curran and Brian Meade.

Division 2 table toppers Donegal have announced one change to their team for the visit of Meath on Sunday.

Eamonn McGee is included at right corner-back with Karl Lacey making way.

Paddy McBrearty will have to content himself with a place on the bench once again despite kicking two points as a substitute in last Sunday's win over Monaghan.

Donegal (v Meath) - Paul Durcan; Eamonn McGee, Neil McGee, Ryan McHugh; Frank McGlynn, Leo McLoone, Anthony Thompson; Rory Kavanagh, Martin McElhinney; Mark McHugh, Christy Toye, Odhrán Mac Niallais; Colm McFadden, Michael Murphy, Dermot Molloy.


Fergal Lynch

Keep up-to-date with the latest news from around the county with a Meath Chronicle epaper subscription from €2.20*

Group Publications

Your Forum
    Cookies on Meath Chronicle website
    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Meath Chronicle website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
    How does Meath Chronicle use cookies?
    Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
    We don't sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
    Hide Message