COOKIES ON Meath Chronicle

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Meath Chronicle website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Holloway is new council chairman

Story by John Donohoe

Friday, 6th June, 2014 4:38pm

Holloway is new council chairman

Meath's new council chairman, Jim Holloway. Photo: Seamus Farrelly.

Fine Gael's Jim Holloway from Navan has been elected chairman of Meath County Council.

He was elected following an alliance with Fine Gael and eight of the nine independent members of the council. Trim councillor Trevor Golden was elected vice-chairperson.

A motion by Sinn Fein's Darren O'Rourke to have the special policy committees and various boards filled in relation to the proportion of party support was defeated in favour of a grouping system.

However, Fianna Fail and Sinn Fein later sprung a surprise by joining forces as a group to fill some of the positions on the committees.

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus