Meath Chronicle

Published: Tuesday, 27th May, 2014 3:30pm

McGuinness re-elected to Europe

Profile by Ann Casey

Image related to story 4030537, see caption or article text
Pic by==: 97

Drumconrath based MEP, Mairead McGuinness has held onto her seat in the European parliament, while local Fianna Fail senator, Thomas Byrne is facing a knife-edge battle with his FF running mate, Pat The Cope Gallagher, and Marian Harkin (Ind) for the fourth and final seat.Carrickmacross native, Matt Carthy is also on course for election, coming second in the first count.So far Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan (Ind) and McGuinness have been elected at the count in Castlebar. 

McGuinness finished in third position after the first count taking an impressive 14.2 per cent of the vote and was elected on the fifth count.The sixth count is now underway with McGuinness' surplus being distributed and Carthy, who is currently close to the quota may well be elected on this count. 

Navan resident, Ben Gilroy of Direct Democracy Ireland and Navan native, Mark Fitzsimons (Ind) were eliminated after the first count along with Cordelia Nic Fhearraigh of Fis Nua, TJ Fay (Ind) and Mark Deary of The Green Party.  

Return to: Homepage | News Index | This article