COOKIES ON Meath Chronicle

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Meath Chronicle website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Cork man is new Macra na Feirme president

Story by John Donohoe

Wednesday, 5th April, 2017 1:24pm

Cork man is new Macra na Feirme president

Celebrations for James Healy at Bluebell.

James Healy from Kilmartin, Donoughmore, Co Cork has been declared the 36th Macra na Feirme National President. James is a founding member of the reformed Donoughmore club based in Muskerry, Cork who have gone on to win Macra na Feirme Club of the Year twice. He is a current member of the National Council and has served as Munster Vice-President and National Competitions Chairperson in the past.

The results of the Macra na Feirme Presidential and Vice-Presidential elections were announced in the Irish Farm Centre, Dublin, on Tuesday.

Speaking after the results of the election, current National President, Sean Finan, who presided over the election said: “I would like to congratulate all candidates for the campaigns they ran. This was a great election, highlighting the best of Macra in terms of leadership, debate and enthusiasm."

Following his election, James Healy said: "It is such an honour to be elected as the next President of this great and historic organisation. It was a hard fought campaign and I greatly enjoyed travelling around the country, meeting members and hearing their views about Macra na Feirme. The landscape of rural Ireland is changing greatly and I look forward to serving the Macra na Feirme members and moving the organisation forward for what is sure to be a challenging couple of years, particularly with the impact of Brexit."

He added: ‘I would also like to pass on my commiserations to Odile Evans who ran a great campaign."

James becomes the 36th president of Macra na Feirme and the seventh Cork representative to serve in the role.

He continued: "There is little doubt that joining Macra has played an influential part in making me the individual I am today. Through my membership, I have gained much from the opportunities provided and I want to make sure these and more opportunities will continue to be available for all members into the future. For this to happen, we the members, must work together as a team to allow Macra to grow and prosper. I firmly believe that my overall rounded experiences provide me with the key skills and attributes to serve as Macra President and to help ensure our team works to the best of its abilities for the betterment of Macra na Feirme. I look forward to working with all members of this great organisation.”

Results were also announced in the vice-presidential elections for Macra’s three regions, Munster, Leinster and the North West.
Sharon Corcoran from Three Lakes Macra in Mayo was declared the winner in the North-West race, Cara O’Mahony of Naas Macra in Kildare has been elected as Leinster Vice-President and Tom O’Donoghue of Cappoquin, Co Waterford is the new Munster Vice-President.

The three new vice-presidents will take up their positions alongside president-elect, James Healy, at Macra's AGM in Leitrim on 6th May.


Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus