COOKIES ON Meath Chronicle

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Meath Chronicle website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Reels album number seven

Wednesday, 20th May, 2015 1:24pm

Reels album number seven

Ben Reel releases his seventh studio album entitled '7th' this month. The first single of the new record is 'Lucky Streak', available on or

Like his previous album 'Darkness & The Light’, his new album 7th was recorded & produced by Ben in his own studio in South Armagh.

Since his debut back in 1999, each album released by Ben Reel has gone from strength to strength earning him many plaudits from the music media around the world.

Ben’s unique style has evolved by drawing from a wealth of different types of music, from rock, soul, blues, alt folk/Americana, country and reggae.

By fusing these different genres behind his songs he has created a sound that has become his own.

Over the years Ben has made numerous radio and television appearances along with playing support to artists such as Jools Holland, Alabama 3 and The Cranberries.

He has collaborated musically with such names as Hal Ketchum, the legendary ‘Blockheads’ and the award winning saxophonist Gilad Atzmon.

As a songwriter and performer he has co-written and worked with some of Nashville's finest, David Olney, John Hadley, Sergio Webb and Irene Kelley.
Over the last seven years Ben Reel has toured extensively across Europe and the USA resulting in the development of a loyal and growing fan base.

The Ben Reel Band features Ben Reel on guitar and vocals Michael Black on drums, Ronnie O’Flynn on bass, Mick McCarney on guitar and Julieanne Reel on backing vocals and percussion.

Amongst the bands most notable performances include appearances at festivals such as Huntenpop in the Netherlands, Kilkenny Rhythm & Roots, Cork Jazz Festival and Ireland’s premiere music festival, Electric Picnic in 2014.

In 2013 Ben toured the UK and the U.S. with Tommy Womack (Nashville) and last year the Ben Reel Band toured the UK as double bill with the legendary Eric Andersen.

Track Listing: 1. Lucky Streak (Reel) 2. One Of These Days (Reel) 3. Crushed It (Reel) 4. Say (Reel) 5. God’s World (Reel, Olney & Webb)

6. Reflections Of The Blues (Reel, Hadley & Webb) 7. Back On The Road (Reel)

8. Meant To Be (Reel) 9. Many A Time (Reel) 10. Gimme Some Room (Reel)

11. Given It All (Reel) 12. Coming Round Again (Reel)

Bonus Tracks: All Souls Alive (Reel) & Resurrection Man (Reel & McLoughlin)

Ben Reel Band: Ben Reel (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica) Michael Black (drums) Ronnie O’Flynn (bass) Micky McCarney (piano keyboards) Julieanne Black (backing vocals and percussion)

Musicians who played on 7th include, Ben Reel (Vocals, Guitar) Michael Black (Drums) Ronnie O’Flynn (Bass) Mick McCarney (Guitars) Gerry Black Jnr. (Guitars)

John McCullough (Piano, Organ, Synth & String Arrangements) Julieanne Black Reel (Vocals) Kelle Redmond (Vocals) Ronnie Morgan (Drums, Vocals) Ronald De Jong (Vocals)

David Olney (Vocals) Sergio Webb (Guitar) Jimmy Bakker (Guitar) Hans Heidt (Saxophone, Brass Arrangements) Eoin Daly (Trumpet)