COOKIES ON Meath Chronicle

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Meath Chronicle website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.


Kells Local Electoral Area

Friday, 23rd May, 2014 4:04pm

Kells Local Electoral Area

David Gilroy elected in the Kells area on fifth count.


Counting is now complete in the Kells electoral area. Fianna Fail's Sean Drew and Independent David Gilroy were the first candidates elected in the Kells area. Both were elected on the fifth count. Sinn Fein's Michael Gallagher was elected on the seventh count.

Also elected were Johnny Guirke, Eugene Cassidy and Sarah Reilly.


Electorate: 25,923


Total Poll: 13,790


Spoilt Votes: 205


Total Valid Poll: 13,585


Quota: 1,699.


First Count


Sean Drew (Fianna Fail) 1,634

Michael Gallagher (Sinn Fein) 1,599

John Guirke (Sinn Fein) 1,562

David Gilroy (Non-Party) 1,519

Ollie Fox (Fianna Fail) 1,158

Sarah Reilly (Fine Gael) 1,124

Eugene Cassidy (Fine Gael) 1,100

John V Farrelly (Fine Gael) 1,095

Brian Reilly (Fianna Fail) 1,008

Ronan Murtagh (Fianna Fail) 673

Brian Collins (Labour) 395

Aideen Andrews (Fine Gael) 337

Seamus McDonagh (Workers' Party) 231

Sandy Gallagher (Labour) 150


Sandy Gallagher was eliminated and her second preferences will be distributed.



Second Count 

McDonagh eliminated.


Third Count

Andrews eliminated


Fourth Count

Brian Collins eliminated.


Fifth count

Sean Drew and David Gilroy elected


Sixth Count

Ronan Murtagh eliminated.


Seventh count

Michael Gallagher elected


Eighth  Count

Ollie Fox eliminated


Ninth Count

Johnny Guirke (SF) elected.


Tenth count

Bryan Reilly elected.


Eleventh count

Eugene Cassidy and Sarah Reilly elected

Post a Comment

blog comments powered by Disqus